Jen Liu: The Pink Detachment

Film Screening und Einzelausstellung

from: 16.08.2016   to: 27.08.2016

Film Screening und Einzelausstellung von Jen Liu kuratiert von Lawinia Rate.


Jen Liu - The Pink Detachment
Jen Liu – „The Pink Detachment“ (2015) HD Video

The Pink Detachment ist eine Neuauflage der chinesischen Modelloper „Das Rote Frauenbatallion“ (1964) aus der Zeit der Kulturrevolution. Im Original schließt sich ein geschundenes Bauernmädchen einer Frauenarmee an, um Revolution für die Massen zu produzieren. Das ‚Produkt‘, das sie herstellen ist komplett Rot. In Jen Lius Neufassung haben sich sowohl die Protagonistinnen, als auch ihr Produkt verändert: Eine tollpatschige Arbeiterin und eine Ballerina, die als Managerin auftritt, um die Probleme der Arbeiterin zu lindern, stellen pinke Hotdogs her. Innerhalb der neuen Struktur wurden Teile der Originalmusik und -Choreografie beibehalten.

Im Kern der Arbeit steht die Farbgleichung Rot + Weiß = Pink, von der aus verschiedenste Bezüge hergestellt werden: der alte englische Begriff „pinko,“ der für Kommunisten mit verwässerten Ansichten, bzw. für liberale Kommunismus-Sympathisanten steht. Zweitens die Idee, zukünftige Krisen in der Nahrungsmittelversorgung durch eine Aufwertung der Hotdog- und Wurstproduktion zu lösen: „unerwünschte“ Teile des Schweins werden mit „erwünschten“ vermischt und in perfekter Balance in eine konsumierbare Form gebracht. Drittens Pink als Farbe des Femininen – nicht als „natürliche,“ fleischliche Sanftheit, sondern vielmehr als synthetisch hergestellte und potentiell gewalttätige Hybridität gedacht.


THE PINK DETACHMENT – Ausstellungstext von Lawinia Rate:

Jen Liu: THE PINK DETACHMENT: PRINCIPLE OF PERPETUAL CATASTROPHE, 2016
Jen Liu: THE PINK DETACHMENT – PRINCIPLE OF PERPETUAL CATASTROPHE (2016) Tinte, Wasserfarbe, Gouache & Gesso auf Papier, 129 x 83.75 cm

Verlangen, Mangel, Wert oder Not können der Grund des Impulses sein, etwas in Besitz zu nehmen, kaufen oder stehlen zu wollen. Warum begehren wir Dinge überhaupt? Warum haben manche Gegenstände einen höheren Wert als andere? Wie und wo entstehen Wunschobjekte? Wo beginnt mein Begehren und wo endet die Idee für ein Produkt? Was war zuerst, der Wunsch oder das Objekt des Wunsches? Und wo ist mein Ich in dem allen? Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari behaupten, wir seien niemals einsam im Begehren und in unserem Begehren verlangten wir nicht einfach nur nach einer einzigen Sache, sondern jegliches Begehren entstehe kollektiv. Wunsch und Subjekt sind verflochten, sie hängen voneinander ab. Begehren, Wertschätzungen und Dinge entstehen in heterogenen Gefügen. Diese Prozesse und die ihnen immanenten Machtverhältnisse sind kaum fassbar, eigentlich sind sie weder beschreibbar, noch zeigbar. Dennoch unternimmt Jen Liu immer wieder den Versuch der visuellen Auseinandersetzung mit diesen komplexen Verknotungen von Begehren und
Subjektivität.

Das Projekt „The Pink Detachment,“ das in der Ausstellung zu sehen ist, besteht aus einem Film und einer Serie Wasserfarbenmalereien. Es gehört zu Jen Lius neuesten Arbeiten und es ist zugleich ein Beispiel für ihre intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dieser Problematik.
Ein dominierendes Element der Malereien ist ein weiblich konnotierter, von allen Seiten drückender und stechender Zeigefinger. Er steht pars pro toto für die Komplexität der Produktionsstrukturen und spezifische Verteilungen von Macht. Zugleich sind diese Bilder, wie Liu selbst unterstreicht, Zukunftsvisionen. Denn führen wir uns vor Augen, dass ökonomische Rationalisierungen sich auch im asiatischen Raum zunehmend weiblich dominierter Dienstarbeit bedienen, sind die Bilder Visionen der Auswirkungen ökonomisch-politischer Kontrollstrategien von heute.

Im Film macht sich Lius Auseinandersetzung mit den Machstrukturen von Produktionsverhältnissen schon auf der technischen Ebene bemerkbar, wenn sie mit der simultanen Anwendung verschiedener Bildtechniken experimentiert. Der Film changiert zwischen der Immaterialität der digitalen Welt, der Materialität von Alltagsgegenständen sowie phantastischen Verschmelzung von abstrakten geometrischen Grundformen in 3D mit dem menschlichen Körper. Inhaltlich basiert der Film auf dem chinesischen Propaganda-Ballett „The Red Detachment of Women“ aus den Jahren der Kulturrevolution. Dieses Ballett handelt von einer Frau, die sich auf der Insel Hainan der Frauentruppe der Roten Armee anschließt. Die Wahl dieser Vorlage erfolgte nicht alleine vor dem Hintergrund eines historischen Interesses, sie dient vor allem der Reflektion der aktuellen Situation der weiblichen Arbeiterinnen in der Volksrepublik China. Der Schauplatz einer schweinefleischverarbeitenden Fabrik fungiert zugleich als Metapher für die wechselseitigen Prozesse der (Re-)Produktion von nationaler Identität, Klassenzugehörigkeit und Geschlecht. Diese erweisen sich hier als historische Fiktionen, die aus einer Kette uniformierender Produktionsabschnitte resultieren.

Der Film baut auf dem Gedankenexperiment auf, die Vergangenheit und die Gegenwart, trotz aller Diskontinuitäten, als Kontinuum zu sehen: Sind die ökonomischen Ideologien von heute eine Verlängerung vergangener Phantasien, Wünsche und Bedürfnisse? Diesen Gedankengang erprobt Jen Liu in einem visuellen Experiment. Sie zitiert die Choreographie und die Musik des Balletts „The Red Detachment of Women“. Wieviel von den alten Gedanken und Bestrebungen bleiben erfahrbar in den nachgespielten Bildern? Wieviel Vergangenheit steckt in einem Zitat? Die Vorlage wird allerdings nicht eins zu eins kopiert. Die Farblichkeit, die Protagonistinnen und das Ende bzw. das Endergebnis sind völlig verändert. Pink Detachment ist kein Re-Make. Dieser Film ist keine Re-Inszenierung, sondern eher eine De-Inszenierung im Sinne der De-Konstruktion. De-Inszenierung meint hier einen performativ-interventionistischen Akt der Künstlerin, wenn sie das Archivmaterial rearrangiert oder eher in einem selbstreferentiellen Gestus danach fragt, ob es überhaupt möglich ist, Archivmaterial politisch erneut zu begründen.


Ausstellungseröffnung: 16. August, 2016, 18-21 Uhr
mit Film Screening und Q&A Session von 19-20 Uhr

Ausstellungsdauer: 17.-27. August 2016
Öffnungszeiten: Di-Sa, 14-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

add to calendar facebook event page

Jen Liu: The Pink Detachment

film screening & solo exhibition by Jen Liu

from: 16.08.2016   to: 27.08.2016

From August 17-27, 2016 SomoS presents a solo exhibition of large-scale watercolors and video by New York-based visual artist Jen Liu. The show is curated by Lawinia Rate, organizer of the popular and thought-provoking Queer film event series “Attaque(e)r le visible” taking place at La Mutinerie in Paris, France. This occasion is centered around Jen Liu’s most recent project “The Pink Detachment.”

“The Pink Detachment” project constitutes an important reflection on historic, political, social and gender issues. Jen Liu’s vivid style is activated to propose questions about the nature of capitalism, ideology, propaganda and advertising, and power relationships, not least of which appear in gender dynamics. Both her paintings and film get at the uneasy question of whether gender equality in the workforce is actually any kind of equality in an oppressive (capitalistic) regime.


Artist Statement: Jen Liu on “The Pink Detachment” (2015):

Jen Liu - The Pink Detachment
Jen Liu – “The Pink Detachment” (2015) HD Video

The Pink Detachment is an update of “The Red Detachment of Women” (1964), a Model Opera from China’s Cultural Revolution. In the original, a beleaguered peasant girl joins an army of women to produce Revolution for the masses: their “product” is all-Red. Here, both protagonists and end- product are revised. The protagonists are an accident-prone worker and a ballerina-manager who has the tools to alleviate the worker’s problems. The “product” is pink hot dogs. Within this revised framework, portions of the original music and choreography have been preserved.

At the center of the piece is the color equation, Red + White = Pink, from which multiple parallel meanings emerge. The first is the old term “pinko,” meaning a watered down Communism, or a liberal with uncommitted Red sympathies. The second is a proposal to solve future crises in meat supply by re-valuating hot dog and sausage production as a solution, by integrating ‘undesirable’ portions of pig with the ‘desirable’ portions, embodying perfect equivalence in consumable form. And the third is pink as femininity – not as a ‘natural’ fleshy softness, but rather a synthetic, engineered (and potentially violent) hybridity.

But underlying it all is this question: is it, in fact, possible to re-motivate the archival artifact? Is continuity between the unfulfilled fantasy of the past and the economic ideologies of the present realizable – particularly when the interstice has been ruptured by large-scale social trauma, such as the Cultural Revolution? When the music and choreography of old propaganda are put to work again, how much of the past ideals attend, or must it always be hijacked by the requirements of the present?


Curatorial Statement by Lawinia Rate:

Jen Liu: THE PINK DETACHMENT: PRINCIPLE OF PERPETUAL CATASTROPHE, 2016
Jen Liu: THE PINK DETACHMENT – PRINCIPLE OF PERPETUAL CATASTROPHE (2016) Ink, watercolor, gouache & gesso on paper, 50.75 x 33 in

Desire, lack, value or need can trigger the impulse to possess, buy or steal. Why do we desire things at all? Why do we value some objects more than others? How do objects of desire come into being? Where does desire begin and where does the allure of a product end? What came first, the wish, or the object of the wish? And where am I positioned among these things? Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari state that we are never alone in our desire, and in our desire we are not simply needy for one thing, but instead desire is developed collectively. Desire and subject are interwoven, they are dependent on each other. Needs, valuations and objects are developed within heterogenous structures. These processes and their inherent power relationships are hard to conceive of, they cannot easily be described or represented. Yet, in her art Jen Liu consistently engages visually and conceptually with these intricate relationships between desire and subjectivity.

The presented works from the „Pink Detachment“ project consist of a film and a series of watercolor paintings. Part of Jen Liu’s most recent output, they demonstrate the artist’s intense engagement with these complex topics.
A dominant element of the paintings is what appears to be a female index finger, pointing and pressing in all directions. It symbolizes the complexities of the production systems and the distribution of power. At the same time, it represents, as Jen Liu points out, a vision of the future. For, when we remind ourselves that also in Asian countries, economic rationalization policies increasingly employ female workforces, these images are visions of the outcome of today’s economic and political control mechanisms.

Liu’s interest in the power relations of the production process is already conveyed in the film’s a technical aspect, when she simultaneously applies different visual techniques. The film alternates between the immateriality of the digital realm, the physicality of everyday objects, as well as the phantasmagoric merging of basic geometrical 3D forms with the human body. Conceptually, the film refers to the Chinese propaganda-ballet “The Red Detachment of Women” made during China’s Cultural Revolution. This ballet depicts a woman who joins a women’s squad of the Red Army at Hainan island. The choice of this reference is not only guided by historic interest, but mainly serves to reflect on the current situation of female workers of the Republic of China. The setting of a pig meat factory serves as metaphor for the intertwined processes of (re)production of national identity, class affiliation and gender. Here, these prove to be historic fictions, which came out of a chain of uniforming production steps.

The film is based on a thought experiment which proposes to view the present as a straightforward continuation of the past, disregarding any discontinuations: are today’s economic ideologies extensions of past fantasies, desires and needs? This theoretical train of thought is taken up by Liu in a visual experiment. She cites the music and choreography of “The Red Detachment of Women” ballet. How much of the old ideals and goals remain intact in the recreated imagery? How much of the past remains alive in a quote? The ballet is not simply remade however, its color tone, protagonists, ending and end result are changed fully: “Pink Detachment” is no remake, not a re-enactment but rather a deconstructed “de-enactment,” a performative intervention by the artist, in which she rearranges the highly charged archive material, probing the possibility of re-infusing such material with new political meaning.


Exhibition Opening – August 16, 2016, 6-9pm
with film screening and discussion with the Artist – 7-8 pm

Exhibition Duration – August 17-27, 2016
Opening Hours – Tue to Sat, 2-7pm
Entry Free

add to calendar facebook event page