Scope Sessions #82

Artist Talks & Media Salon

from: 11.04.2019 6:30pm  to: 9pm

SomoS freut sich, die 82. Ausgabe der Scope Sessions – Artist Talks & Media Salon zu hosten. In dieser Ausgabe wird die multidisziplinäre irische Künstlerin Tanya Harris ihre Arbeiten vorstellen. Der zweite Sprecher wird in Kürze bekannt gegeben.

Scope ist ein Treffpunkt für Kreative und Neugierige, eine Plattform zum Teilen und Lernen in informeller Umgebung. In jeder Sitzung werden zwei Gastkünstler eingeladen, ein Projekt, ein Konzept, einen Prozess oder ein Erlebnis vorzustellen. Die Präsentationen sind kurz, etwa 30 Minuten, und in ihrer Form uneingeschränkt. Bei Scope geht es um verschiedene Themen und Ansätze. Es geht um Aufmerksamkeit, nicht für den Künstler, sondern für das Publikum.


Tanya Harris – Bewusstsein liegt in der Geometrie

Tanya Harris ist eine multidisziplinäre irische Künstlerin. Ihre mystisch angehauchte Arbeit zielt darauf ab, “neue Einblicke in die subtilen Schwingungen zu gewinnen, durch die sich alles Leben manifestiert”. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit umfaßt Klanginstallationen, Zeichnungen, handgefertigten Elektrogeräten, Stickereien, Collagen und “Vibrationselixieren”.

Tanya wird im April für eine Künstlerresidenz bei Berlin Sessions gehostet. Consciousness Resides in Geometry ist eine neue Arbeit, die sie auf den Scope Sessions präsentieren wird. Sie hat sich vom alten Shipibo-Stamm im peruanischen Amazonas-Regenwald inspirieren lassen und aus geometrischen Klangschwingungen komplexe geometrische Muster erzeugt. Sie hat außerdem Rituale initiiert, um die heilenden Eigenschaften einheimischer irischer Pflanzen zu erforschen. Dies erzeugte einen Prozeß der Neugestaltung ihrer Überzeugungen durch geometrische Zeichnungen.

Tanyas Werke wurden international in Kunstbüchern und Magazinen veröffentlicht und sie hat an Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen in Irland und Großbritannien teilgenommen.

http://www.tanyaharris.co.uk


Donnerstag, 11. April 2019, 19-21 Uhr
Die Türen öffnen um 18:30 Uhr
Die Gespräche beginnen um 19:00 Uhr *pünktlich*
Eintritt frei
Facebook Event Page Zum Kalender hinzufügen

SomoS, Kottbusser Damm 95, 1.OG, 10967 Berlin

Scope Sessions #82

Tanya Harris & Dongyan Chen

11.04.2019 6:30pm  - 9pm

SomoS is pleased to host the 82nd edition of the Scope Sessions Artist’s Talks & Media Salon. In this edition, multidisciplinary artists Tanya Harris and Dongyan Chen will present their work.

Scope is a meeting point for the creative and the curious, a platform for sharing and learning in an informal setting. Each session, two guest artists are invited to present a project, a concept, a process or an experience. The presentations are short, around 30 minutes and unrestricted in form. Offering a variety of topics and approaches, Scope is about exposure, not for the artist, but for the audience.


Cymatic photograph of Marosa plant.
Marosa; cymatic photograph generated from Shipibo shaman Sulmira Vela’s icaros from the Marosa plant

Tanya Harris // Consciousness Resides in Geometry

Tanya Harris is a multidisciplinary Irish artist whose work aims to provoke new insights into the subtle vibrations through which all life manifests itself. Her work takes the form of sonic installations, drawing, hand-made electrical devices, embroidery, collage and vibrational elixirs.

Tanya is currently being hosted for an artist residency at Berlin Sessions for the month of April. Consciousness Resides in Geometry is a new body of work that she will be presenting with Scope Sessions. Taking inspiration from the ancient Shipibo tribe in the Peruvian Amazon rain forest, she has generated complex geometric patterns from sound vibrations, initiated rituals to explore the healing properties of native Irish plants, this generated a process of re-patterning her beliefs through geometric drawings.

Tanya’s work has appeared in art books and magazines internationally and she has had group and solo exhibitions in Ireland and the UK.

http://www.tanyaharris.co.uk
 


Video collage still.
Dongyan Chen – A Brief Introduction of J’s Dream Universe, video/installation, 2018

Dongyan Chen // From Dreams to Parallel Universes

Artist Dongyan Chen is a current artist-in-residence at SomoS gallery and will speak about her work in progress covering themes of dreams, retrieving information from the unconscious as well as the different processes to discover and articulate the hidden messages embedded in them, automatic writings, Surrealism and story-telling.

Dongyan Chen was born in China and raised in Singapore. She graduated from Central Saint Martins, BA Fine Art course in 2018 with First Class Honours.

https://www.dongyanchen.com


Thursday, April 11th, 2019
Doors open at 18:30
Talks start at 19:00 *sharp*
Entry free, donations welcome
Facebook Event Page
http://scopesessions.org/ Add to Calendar

SomoS, Kottbusser Damm 95, 1.OG, 10967 Berlin